Emilia Romagna Region


The Emilia-Romagna Regional Administration was set up in 1970. The National Central Government is made up of  20 Italian geographic regions to which administrative authority was given. It carries out a wide series of legislative, administrative and executive functions. Its constitution, which came into force in 1971, creates an autonomous Regional Government with powers exercised within the limits of the Italian Constitution.

Emilia-Romagna Region, highly appreciated thanks to its seaside, works of art, Apennine mountains, and culinary delights, counts more then 4,000,000 inhabitants.
Emilia-Romagna plays a significant role in the Italian economy. The most predominant sector making up the added value of the Region is the one of services. In September 2009 the active businesses were 430,007.
Environment protection in Emilia-Romagna is first and foremost ensured by an extensive network of protected areas including 2 national and 13 regional parks, 14 natural reserves. The two national parks stretch along the ridges of the Apennines and down the Tuscan slope, while the regional parks and reserves mainly cover mountains or hills. One meaningful exception is represented by the huge park of the Po delta, which includes other wetlands of international importance. It is distributed both along the coast and inland, and also includes reserves for the protection of remnant environments in the lowland. There are also many ecological restoration areas that ensure the protection and efficient management of small areas of wetlands and of other natural or semi-natural environments not yet swallowed by extensive agriculture and urbanisation.

Photo Gallery